All Aboard the Via Train

Good morning , my friends. At this very moment I am sitting on a Via Train bound for Toronto Ontario. It is about a 4-1/2 hour trip and I’m half way there. I don’t mind the bumps and jerky movements on the train, but I do have a bit of a beef.

The train I am on has six separate cars of which 3 of them are empty. Each car consists of about 60 seats . The seats are fairly comfortable and the leg room is fairly good too. My problem is, I don’t have a clue why they have us packed into two cars like sardines when there are 3 completely empty. I know that the last stop we made a few minutes ago will be the largest pickup. My point is, no ONE else will be getting on the train before we reach Toronto. Is there any logic to this?

The only logic I can see would be laziness on the part of the workers. By sealing off three cars, they know there won’t be any cleaning for them to do. I’m lucky and have a very friendly lady next to me but that doesn’t help when my claustrophobia kicks in. Thankfully I am near the window, so that should help a bit. I’m hoping tonight when I take the train, that the situation isn’t the same. I will be leaving Toronto around 7pm and arriving in Windsor about 11:30pm, so hopefully there will be few travelers.

For now, there isn’t anything I can do about it….I have another 2 hours to go…Wish me luck!!!

Photo & Text are original. Copyrighted and All Rights Reserved. Robin Lusk 2013.

Originally posted here .

Leave a Reply

